For professionals wanting to make a difference, moving to the third sector can be a very attractive career option. 

If you’re thinking about moving from the private sector, having a career change, or simply want to get more involved in volunteering to improve your skills at the same time as giving back, the following resources are a useful place in which to research your options. 

There’s also information on how to get your current employer more involved in the community, and how to start your own ethical business or learn about social enterprise.

 

Useful websites

National Council for Voluntary Organisations – Represents the 7000 organising 281,000 staff and 13 million volunteers. News, jobs, training, discussion boards etc – www.ncvo.org.uk

Charities Commission – Lists all charities operating within the UK https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/charity-commission

Third Sector – News, jobs, events etc – www.thirdsector.org 

Social Enterprise – www.socialenterprise.org.uk

Graduate internships – http://www.charity-works.co.uk/

Find volunteering opportunities (search by cause you’re interested in and postcode) to help build your CV – https://do-it.org/ and http://timebank.org.uk/

Business in the Community – charity set up to develop links between the private and voluntary sectors and promote corporate social responsibility https://www.bitc.org.uk/

 

Specific roles

ACEVO – Association of Chief Executives of Voluntary Organisations. Connects, develops and represent the third sector’s leaders https://www.acevo.org.uk/

Directory of Social Change https://www.dsc.org.uk/

Institute of Fundraising – the professional body for UK fundraising https://www.institute-of-fundraising.org.uk/home/

Charity Comms – For communications professionals in the third sector – https://www.charitycomms.org.uk/

Becoming a Trustee for a charity – https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/the-essential-trustee-what-you-need-to-know-cc3, https://elba-1.org.uk (London)

 

NFP Recruitment

Charisma Charity Recruitment www.charismacharityrecruitment.co.uk

Charity Job https://www.charityjob.co.uk/

The Guardian https://jobs.theguardian.com/

Third Sector https://jobs.thirdsector.co.uk/

Jobs in Charities www.jobsincharities.co.uk

UK Charity Jobs  https://ukcharityjobs.com/

People Unlimited – recruitment agents – http://www.charitypeople.co.uk/

Reed – https://www.reed.co.uk/

Total Jobs – https://www.totaljobs.com/

 

Publications

Ethical Careers Guide. By Paul Allen https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ethical-Careers-Guide-find-work-ebook/dp/B01N9MYBM8/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=ethical+career&qid=1557737752&s=gateway&sr=8-1

80000hours.org A non-profit that does research and provides free advice to help people learn about help solve the world’s most pressing problems https://80000hours.org/